The RIOT of SPRING by 16 Stravinskys

by frasconimusic

  • Streaming + Download




The Riot of Spring, for 16 orchestras.

Sixteen different recordings of Igor Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring, played simultaneously. Conceived and realized by Miguel Frasconi.

This version created in honor of the 100th anniversary of the premiere performance of Le Sacre du printemps, which took place May 29, 1913.

The Riot of Spring (An Orchestra of Orchestras) was first performed in 2006 on Stephan Moore's 16 speaker array, with a different orchestra in each speaker. It was commissioned by Suzanne Fiol and ISSUE Project Room for the first annual Floating Points festival.


released May 29, 2013

Please do not pay for these audio files.




frasconimusic New York

Miguel Frasconi uses electronics, laptop, and an instrumentarium of glass objects to create music from a uniquely imagined tradition. His glass instruments are struck, blown, stroked, smashed and otherwise coaxed into vibration. Miguel's music is on New Albion Records, Porter Records, and soon on Tzadik. He performs with Ne(x)tworks teaches at the Bard College Electronic Music Studios.  ... more

contact / help

Contact frasconimusic

Streaming and
Download help